My Favourite North London Hubs!

As a lifelong resident of north London, I sometimes ponder what it would be like to live permanently in a different part of the UK or indeed in another country altogether. Although I have lived in south and east London with a stint as a child in the Midlands and Jamaica, north London feels like home. It has familiar haunts which I still love.

One of my favourite places in north London is Alexandra Palace. Built in 1863, it is now home to various events and happenings such as concerts, ice staking and other sporting activities. It’s also a grade 11 (two) listed building. But what I like the most is the pivotal location of the palace. It stands on high ground surrounded by lush green fields and the panoramic views across London are breathtaking! The views in the night are amazing! Just imagine flecks of light from people’s homes glowing in the dark as far as the eye can see!

During the summer you will often find people picnicking, artists painting, or walkers and cyclists. It has a real feel of the countryside although it’s in the capital city.

Another one of my favourite hubs is the nearby Muswell Hill (1.4 miles away). It’s a small quiet suburb, quite affluent with a quaint high street. It has an independent book shop, restaurants, the odd clothing boutique and a good selection of health food shops, which are my thing, although the prices…

Moving on! Muswell Hill as the name suggests is located on a hill. It is a nice area to stroll around in particularly if you want to keep fit in this hilly region! Like Alexandra Palace is has good views and also boasts some very large houses that date back to the Victorian era. There have also been reports of some spooky occurrences in Muswell Hill along with the suburb of Highgate which is not far away! Ooh!!!

Crouch End is another favourite place. It is characterized by the clock tower which was built swiftly and unveiled in 1895. It is less than a couple of miles from Muswell Hill. Along the broadway you have a good selection of shops such as an artisan bakers, a public library, a bookshop and several charity shops. It is also home to The Haelan Centre which is a health food shop that also runs clinics which specializes in complementary therapies. And just like Muswell Hill, the houses are large and imposing!

Crouch End has changed over the many decades since I have lived in north London, but what I like most about it is that it has never lost its village-like feel and appeal.

If you ever find yourself in north London these quaint hubs will not disappoint!

Thanks for stopping by!

Until next time

Sharon

Footnote: Images courtesy of Pexels/Pixabay and are a close likeness to Alexandra Palace and the Clock Tower in Crouch End.

Published by Sharon's Writers Tidbits

Sharon Wilson was born in London. She has had a passion for the art and craft of creative writing for many years . Sharon's main writing interests are novels, short stories and poetry. She also enjoys writing non-fiction and has had several articles on writing published in various ezines. Sharon is an avid reader and has an extensive book collection which is actually quite threatening!

19 thoughts on “My Favourite North London Hubs!

  1. Really interesting, Sharon. If we ever get to London, I’m going to make sure we find these places, especially Alexandra Palace. Good pictures, too.

    Gwen.

    1. Good evening Gwen! I think you will like Alexandra Palace! When you approach it from the Muswell Hill end you travel up a winding road with woods to the right!! Nice! Thank you so much for your comments. Kind regards. X

  2. Nodding here reading your post, those places really are beautiful. Fun fact! The Crouch End church hosted David Gray recording of his famous album back in the 2000! I lived around there, but never went in, the acoustics must have been excellent.

  3. It was wonderful to get a bird’s eye view of your favourite sites in North London. ‘Alexandra Palace’ looks spectacular. It’s marvellous how it houses so many events and I say that with my pinky finger extended as if I was sipping a devonshire tea worth 20 bucks. La, de daa. Have you seen Annie Hall? La, de daaa….lol
    Muswell Hill sounds like how Notting Hill is portrayed in the Hugh Grant movie, but I might be totally wrong and out of my depth.
    You’ve indeed watered my appetite to visit if I ever win the lottery. I suppose I need to participate to have a chance. Haha. Cool post Sharon.

    1. Hi Matt! Thank you for your kind comments! Yes, north London has got something for sure. It’s small and village-like! But it’s also quite bustling! I have not seen Notting Hill with Hugh Grant, I’ll have to watch and let you know. I ‘think’ the houses in Notting Hill are older! So I can see the likeness!! Oh, you are going to need a big lottery win to visit this capital city!!! Very expensive!! I hope you win!! Thanks again.

      1. The next time I am close to a place to play lottery I will place a fiver down and hope to win enough to travel and enjoy a few weeks in North London. I doubt that will even cover it, but at least I know I will have free shelter. Haha
        I’m surprised you haven’t seen Notting Hill since it’s filmed in your neck of the woods unless I’m mistaken. It’s not a great movie by any stretch but it has its moments and a pretty good soundtrack.

Leave a comment

Chocolate Serenity

For BIPOC women by a BIPOC woman to pursue peace and revel in authenticity.

Esther Chilton

Writer, Tutor and Editor

P.J.Scribbans | Author

Writing tip, author insights and my narratives

The Waltham Forest Poetry Competition

National and local poetry competition

Lonely Power Poles

Writing, Reviewing, Rambling

Annika Perry

A writer influenced by her Swedish heritage and Yorkshire upbringing

N S Ford

Writer, reader, blogger

The Journey

Will power, Endurance and Love

Observation Blogger

Lifelong learner and blogging enthusiast

From First Page to Last

A space to share book reviews and other book related treats

K.M. Allan

Writing Advice From A YA Author Powered By Chocolate And Green Tea

moviejoltz

The website where movies count

Stories For All

Explore. Experience. Engage.

art by Jeremy Price

mostly painting